LibGuides: Business for Creative Industries (BCI): News, Competition, & Market Research

Business News

International Newsstream
Includes major international papers like The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Regional Business News
Covers business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines from The Washington Post, PR Newswire US, and other prominent news sources.
U.S. Newsstream Collection
Includes large U.S. newspapers like Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, as well as the Coloradoan and Denver Post.

Tracking Trends in your Industry

Search these databases to find information about how similar businesses are doing, their audiences, and any gaps in the market. This information can help you write your business plan and make updates to your business as you go. This kind of information is often found in industry and market reports.

Business Market Research Collection

Company profiles (public and non-public reports with financials, competitors, officers), market data, and geopolitical economic analysis. Use for industry research and business plan development.
EBSCO Business Searching Interface
browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research. Includes full text Data Monitor reports for specific companies and industries.

IBIS World
Reports about industries and markets in the United States, including Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation, Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services (Graphic Designers, IT Consulting). *Must be on Larimer Campus to access.*

Statista

Business students will find market, consumer, and company data in English, French, German, and Spanish.

Creative Research: Theory and Practice of Research in the Creative Industries by Hilary Collins
Call Number: ONLINE

ISBN: 9781474247092

Publication Date: 2018-11-15

Academic research in design can seem daunting - let Hilary Collins show you the building blocks of a great final project. The perfect companion for a research project in fashion, design or visual communication, Creative Research walks you through: · Choosing a topic · Deciding your approach · Using previous research and writing a literature review · Obtaining your own data and using it appropriately Useful case studies show best practice, revealing the links between a researcher's choice of method and the conclusions they draw. Packed with advice on how to manage your time and structure your project effectively, this edition also includes new sections on design thinking and ethnography. Collins marries theory and practice from start to finish, showing you everything you need to confidently embark on your creative research project.

library cards with Poudre Libraries branding and mascots

The two databases below require a Poudre Libraries library barcode to login from home. Register for a Poudre Libraries card on their website.

You can also access them in person at Harmony Library on Larimer Campus.

First Research
Provides unlimited access to online profiles on over 900 industries.
Simply Analytics
Mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that includes demographic data, consumer spending data. business directory, consumer behavior dataset, and marketing segmentation system. Data is largely available down to the block group level. Sign in is as a guest or create a log-in with a user name and password in order to save searches.

Business for Creative Industries (BCI)

Ask Us

Feeling stuck? Get in touch with a librarian!

FRCC-LC Library Staff

General Help

Business News

Tracking Trends in your Industry