Business for Creative Industries (BCI)

What is a business plan?  Does the library have examples that I can see?

- Business Plans are essential for creating a business. The business plan provides a detailed description of your business idea, how you plan to create, fund, and operate your business, and provides demographics and market research to explain how you will be successful as a business. You will need a business plan to show that you are a capable and prepared business owner.  You can see real business plans (and what they contain) using the Gale Virtual Reference Library Business Plan Handbook

I need to write a paper about Amazon, are there resources available in the library about Amazon or companies like Amazon?

- The library provides access to various databases that may help you in your company research.  Try using Plunkett Research and Mergent Intellect to do a simple search of a company like Amazon.  Using these databases you will find a company profile, executive information, sales reports, news and events pertaining to the company, and other useful bits of information.

I'm interested in starting a business in Colorado, does the library have resources to guide me? 

- Yes, the best place to start would be the poudrelibraries.org Business Center.  Once you arrive at the Business Center homepage, on the lefthand side of the screen is a link labeled "Starting a Business," click on the link and you will be taken to a page with useful resources pertaining to starting a business in Colorado. 

I need to create a SWOT analysis, does the library have access to examples of a SWOT Analysis? 

-Yes, Business Source Premier provides access to a variety of SWOT analyzes from a wide range of industries. Go to Business Source Premier located under the Poudrelibraries.org-Research Tab, and once in the database select ADVANCE SEARCH.  Once in the Advanced Search screen, you will see a column on the right side of your screen labeled "Browse."  Select "SWOT Analyses" and you will be taken to an alphabetical list of SWOT analyses listed by company.

I would like to understand the demographics of my area to better market my business to potential clients.  Is there a way to find such information through the library? 

- Yes, with your library card you are able to access two databases that can help with demographics and market research.  For Demographic information, use DemographicsNow. This database will allow you to search nationally, as well as pinpoint state and local demographics.  You can search by state name, city/town name, or zip codes to hone in on your particular demographic interests.  Another database that can provide information on markets, including competitor and consumer information and statistics is Reference USA.  This database allows you to search a particular state, city/town, or zip codes for lists of similar businesses using the "U.S. Businesses" search.  One can also access consumer lifestyle information using the "U.S. Consumer/ Lifestyle" search. NOTE: When using Reference USA, always used the advanced search feature if you are compiling information about area businesses or consumer information.

Finally, Simply Analytics has in-depth consumer behavior data and profiles, often down to the block level, with interactive maps so you can visualize where your consumers are, what they need, and how to get their attention.

I was thinking about getting into trading stocks, but I do not know where to start, are there resources available through the library that can help me understand the stock market? 

- Yes, the library provides access to Morningstar financial research center, and the database provides extensive investment education and training. The link above takes you directly to the help and education section of the database, an excellent place to start if you are new to trading stock and investments.