Skip to Main Content

CCCS Faculty Toolkit

Resources and Services for Community College Faculty.

Graphic image that reads: Kanopy: Streaming Media Collection

Using Kanopy

Kanopy: Streaming Media Collection

Both students and faculty have access to Kanopy for educational purposes. Students can watch movies, while faculty can search for and request films to support the curriculum.


Faculty Access

The links provided are intended for faculty use. Please embed the film link into your D2L Course shell.

On-Campus access: https://cccs.kanopy.com

Off-Campus access: https://ccco.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://cccs.kanopy.com/

Searching Kanopy and Requesting Films

The Kanopy home page shows the films already licensed for use by the CCCS Online Library. To search for a specific title or subject, use the search feature. We are typically able to fulfill faculty requests for instructional needs as funding allows.

Search instructions:
  • Click Search and Enter Your Search Term, from the Kanopy home page
  • You will see two options on the screen. In Collection and Request Access
  • Click Request Access to see the films available for purchase
  • After you locate a film for purchase, use the Kanopy Request form also provided below. Do not request access via the Kanopy platform.
  • Please request videos in advance to allow time to purchase.
  • For Kanopy videos, licenses are available for 1-, 2-, and 3-year duration. If you anticipate using the video in future terms, please inform us when you make the request so we can make the most cost-efficient purchase. Instructors are responsible for copyright compliance.

Graphic Image of Kanopy home page and search bar

Before a purchase is made, a search will be conducted to ensure the film is not available in another video database or freely available.

Kanopy Request Form

Embedding Film Links into D2L

Embedding Film Links into D2L

Instructors should embed links to the films for class into their D2L course shell.

Use the Share button available with each video. Either copy the film link or embed the video into your D2L course shell for students to view the film. To share a clip, you will need to create an account and then create a playlist which will allow you to share a link to a clip of the video you created. Students do not need an account to watch the clip or entire video.

Graphic Image of Movie on Kanopy Platform and the share button

Kanopy Faculty Use

Kanopy Faculty Use

  • The CCCS Libraries provide access to Kanopy primarily as an instructional tool, and we gladly consider requests from instructors for films to be assigned for an entire class.
  • To use a Kanopy video available in the current collection, simply embed the link into your D2L course shell. Instructions provided above.
  • To request a video not currently in the collection, please search Kanopy and request it in advance using the Kanopy Request form.
  • Instructors are responsible for copyright compliance. Please be aware of the intricacies of Copyright Law and online streaming. Educational fair use allows you to show a film in class face-to-face as long as it is directly related to your course content. When it comes to streaming video in educational settings, it is typically not allowed to publicly screen an entire film in the classroom. Online showings of streaming content generally can only be done by breaking technological locks, which would violate terms of service and is not an act protected by the sections of copyright law applicable to fair use. It is legitimate to request that students watch a video individually before class or as an assignment for discussion.

 

For further reading:

Kanopy Student Use

Kanopy Student Use

  • Students can watch any of the individual videos already available in the library's Kanopy collection. Kanopy is accessible to students through the library's Database A-Z list.
  • Instructors should embed links to the films for class into their D2L course shell.
  • New titles are added regularly in response to instructor requests.
  • If an instructor has assigned a video not available in the collection, students may ask the instructor to contact their local community college library to request it or instructors may use the Kanopy Request Form. We are unable to honor requests directly from students for new videos.
  • If students would like to view a video not available in our Kanopy collection for personal interest (e.g. not part of an assignment), please have students check with their local public library or use one of the other video sources listed below.

Other Films Collections Online

Film Collections Online

Free Streaming Platforms

Use these different platforms to find different movies to view for free or through a free service tier. Use at your own discretion.

Copyright issues can be complicated. This guide is meant to inform you of common issues surrounding copyright, but it is not legal advice.