LibGuides: Databases at FRCC-Larimer Campus: News & Opinion Databases

NEWS SOURCE DATABASES

The databases listed below are ones that specialize in news articles. Within the "information cycle" news articles are usually the first things to be published, and are therefore usually the fastest way to find out recent information. These sources also include long-form journalism, reporting, and opinion pieces (op-eds).

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 400 Canadian news sources from Canada's leading publishers. Most titles are updated daily and some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
A service of the Colorado State Library, CHNC currently includes more than 2.9 million digitized pages, representing more than 650 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 - 2022.
Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
Global Breaking Newswires is the premier library news product providing timely access to the best newswire content available from around the globe for the modern researcher.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
MAS Ultra This link opens in a new window
This database contains full text for popular magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection, and expanded full text backfiles for key magazines.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, including the Denver Post, USA Today, and The Washington Post. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This resource covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). It also includes academic journals, newspapers, magazines and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources. Content for Regional Business News is provided by leading publishers in business news including The Washington Post, PR Newswire US and more. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
offers access to the Fort Collins Coloradoan, The Gazette (Colorado Springs), Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.

ARGUMENTATIVE ESSAY DATABASES

The databases listed below can help you get started with your argumentative essays because they show multiple viewpoints on various issues.

Don't forget to explore subject databases that focus on your topic! (i.e. see the Business & Economy databases for research related to cryptocurrencies or shortened work weeks or paid family leave; Medicine & Nursing databases for research related to end-of-life care or alternative healing practices; see News databases for more recent coverage of controversial topics.) Also, any of the academic articles databases listed above can be helpful for digging into multiple perspectives and research about an issue.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This resource covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). It also includes academic journals, newspapers, magazines and more.