LibGuides: Databases at FRCC-Larimer Campus: Open Access & Free Research Resources

OPEN ACCESS & FREE RESOURCES

The databases listed below are all free resources or open access sources that are great places for academic research and you can use them after you leave FRCC. These cover a variety of subjects. We don't subscribe to these as they are free and open to everyone!

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
From the National Agricultural Library: We've brought AGRICOLA, PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC) together in one place.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Find journals that include free articles and data, covering many subjects, from fine arts and music to geography to technology. Includes international journals and journals in languages other than English.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items and making them available to read online for free.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
View maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks.
SpringerOpen This link opens in a new window
Includes open access journals and books that have been peer-reviewed. Covers architecture/design, physical sciences, natural sciences, medicine, social sciences, and more.
Taylor & Francis Open Journals This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Group’s flourishing program of full open access journals enables you to make your research freely and permanently available. Use the subject area filter to explore our portfolio of fully open journals.
Wiley Online Library Open Access This link opens in a new window
Free access to articles published in more than 570 peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of academic subjects.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
From Cornell University, arXiv is an open-access archive of scholarly articles in the fields of science, math, economics and more. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
Project Euclid This link opens in a new window
platform for small scholarly publishers of mathematics and statistics journals
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
Publicly Available Content Database This link opens in a new window
Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world.