LibGuides: Databases at FRCC-Larimer Campus: History Databases

HISTORY DATABASES

The databases listed below are great for research on historical subjects, biographies of historical people, historical news coverage, primary sources, and more. Coverage includes world history, American history, and individual countries' histories.

Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Provides thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
A service of the Colorado State Library, CHNC currently includes more than 2.9 million digitized pages, representing more than 650 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 - 2022.
Discovering American Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. Includes: *Detailed descriptions and links to more than 700 digital collections *Quick access to basic and advanced searches on every page *Options for browsing by subject (300+ entries), place, time period, and primary source type *Options for narrowing search results by subject, time period, place, and primary source type *An interactive map links more than 500 locations (towns, schools, buildings) with relevant online primary sources.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It includes peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Offers full text ebooks, periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
provides background on significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. Includes primary sources like laws, letters, images, and videos.
In Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics from the ancient world to today's headlines. Search using keywords or explore curated topic pages.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. Their collection includes research from the past (i.e. older articles), as well as contemporary analysis of historical events.