LibGuides: Databases at FRCC-Larimer Campus: Reference/Background Info Databases

REFERENCE DATABASES

Need a definition for something, or a basic "Wikipedia-style" overview of a subject? The databases listed below are great for looking up the what/where/why/when of various topics. "Reference" refers to quick look-up resources (like dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes) that provide factual information, and cite more in-depth and specialized information resources.

Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Provides thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Content on core authors and works, multicultural classics, contemporary literature, and more—including videos, proprietary essay topics and discussion questions, and valuable writing guidance—that can be used in lectures or for independent study.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia-like resource to explore research topics and understand the background and context of an issue. Credo Reference describes current and historical topics, suggests related search terms, and provides multiple perspectives on issues (like pro/con). Filter search results by field of study, article length, and more options to find relevant articles, videos, photographs, and maps.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Offers full text ebooks, periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Legal Information Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Providing exclusive online full text for more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis.
Poetry and Short Story Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text database containing thousands of classic and contemporary poems, short stories, biographies, essays, lesson plans and learning guides. It also includes high-quality videos and audio recordings from the Academy of American Poets.
Prescribers' Digital Reference (PDR) This link opens in a new window
Delivers innovative health knowledge products and services that support prescribing decisions and patient adherence to improve health.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
Small Engine Repair Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Clymer repair manuals provide step-by-step procedures based upon the complete disassembly of the machine. This hands-on experience combined with extensive research results in a manual that is both detailed and user-friendly. Hundreds of original photos and illustrations guide the reader through every job, making it easy to reduce repair costs. Whether it is routine maintenance, such as tune-ups and brake service, or more extensive repairs involving engine and transmission disassembly, Small Engine Repair Reference Center provides reliable information required to perform the job.
Mosby's Medical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Features over 56,000 authoritative definitions, quick-reference appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations.