Below are a list of OER, RRCC library materials (eBooks, journal articles, etc.), and third-party* content for each course in OER Grant VI. To access the linked library resources below, you will need to be logged into the RRCC library. If you have any issues accessing the library, please contact holly.stevens@rrcc.edu or the library staff at library@rrcc.edu.
General
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Theatrical Worlds (textbook) | gives insight into the people and processes that create theatre; historical topics include Shakespeare, American musicals, and world theatre. #introductiontotheatre, #theatricalproduction, #acting, #directing, #setdesign, #costumedesign, #lightingdesign, #shakespeare, #americanmusical, #worldtheatre |
| Teaching Apparel Production (textbook) | broken into units/chapters that focus on essentials for constructing garments and teaching others how to construct apparel and apparel-related products. #sewing, #sewingmachines, #apparelconstruction |
| Introduction to Apparel Production Workbook (textbook) | covers important concepts and techniques in beginning apparel production. Includes graphics, videos, and projects. #sewingterminology, #fabrics, #sewingmaterials, #patterns, #cutting, #marking, #threading, #sewingmachines |
| Adaptive Apparel Design (textbook) | covers the adaptive apparel design process: research, sketching, developing a sample notebook, mood or inspiration board, pattern work, first sample, and the completed ensemble |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Fashion History Timeline (website) |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Victoria and Albert Museum,_Theatre & Performance Collection (website)* | documents current practice and history in various areas of performing arts in the UK, including drama, dance, opera, circus, puppetry, comedy, musical theatre, costume, set design, pantomime, popular music, etc. |
| Costume Institute (Metropolitan Museum of Art) | houses a collection of more than 35k+ costumes and accessories, representing five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress, regional costumes, and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present |
| Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume Design | comprises over 5000+ items from productions in England and the United States, including costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and fabric swatches |
| Cornell Fashion and Textile Online Collection: Arts & Design | includes 9,000+ items of apparel dating from the eighteenth century to the present; includes collections of ethnographic textiles and costumes |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Tilly and the Buttons (website) | includes How to Combine Pattern Sizes, How to Select Your Sewing Pattern Size |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Sewing: Canvas Commons | open courseware in the Canvas Commons; each course has resources that can be reused and adapted. |
Parthiban, Murugesan, Muthu Raja Srikrishnan, and Palanisamy Kandhavadivu. Sustainability in Fashion and Apparels: Challenges and Solutions. E-book, Woodhead Publishing India, 2018.: addresses pathways to sustainability in the fashion and apparel industries.
Pravina Shukla. Costume : Performing Identities Through Dress. E-book, Indiana University Press, 2015.: provides detailed case studies from the United States, Brazil, and Sweden to show how individuals use costumes for social communication and to express facets of their personalities.
McLean, Adrienne L. Costume, Makeup, and Hair. E-book, Rutgers University Press, 2016.: each chapter explores a different era in film history, illustrating how costume, makeup, and hair styling have adapted to technological advancements and changing cultural norms.
Lewandowski, Elizabeth J. The Complete Costume Dictionary. E-book, Scarecrow Press, 2011.: includes garment types, garments by country, and garment types by era. CCCS Library link
Jackson, Sheila. Costumes for the Stage : A Complete Handbook for Every Kind of Play. E-book, Methuen Drama, 2001.: offers advice for play costuming, featuring drawings, diagrams, and patterns; covers Greek plays, medieval miracles, mysteries, Shakespeare, 17th-century, 18th-century, Victorian, and Edwardian costumes; each section details men's and women's clothes, accessories, and style adaptation methods.
O’Donnol, Shirley Miles. American Costume, 1915-1970 : A Source Book for the Stage Costumer. E-book, Indiana University Press, 1989. : visual records of American fashion and clothing styles from 1915 to 1970 via illustrations, photographs, and magazine images; organized chronologically by decade.
Moore, Jennifer Grayer. Patternmaking History and Theory. E-book, Bloomsbury Visual Arts, 2020.- explores the foundational art and craft of patternmaking design through essays; examines practice in various historical and cultural contexts, covering topics from women's wartime sewing to modern 3D pattern-cutting software.
Coffin, David Page. Sewing Shirts with a Perfect Fit: The Ultimate Guide to Fit, Style, and Construction from Collared and Cuffed to Blouses and Tunics. E-book, Creative Publishing International, 2018.: covers basics of sewing shirts and blouses; includes instructions, patterns, and images.
Brownie, Barbara, and Danny M. Graydon. The Superhero Costume: Identity and Disguise in Fact and Fiction. E-book, Bloomsbury Academic, 2016.: provides analysis of the superhero costume and investigates wide-ranging issues such as identity, otherness, ritual dress and disguise.
General
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Theater & Film (LibreText) | from LibreText, includes: Intro to Technical Theatre; Technical Theatre Practicum; Actors and the Art of Performance; Theatre Appreciation; Playwriting; Directing; Devising; Improv Recipe Book; Exploring Movie Construction and Production; Moving Pictures - An Introduction to Cinema; Video Production Handbook; Telling Stories to Save the World |
| Folger Shakespeare Library Collection (website) | a large Shakespeare collection resource for exploring Shakespeare and his world; and Folgerpedia, the Folger Shakespeare Library's encyclopedia of articles addressing each topic as it relates to the Folger and the Folger collection. |
| Theatrical Worlds (textbook) | gives insight into the people and processes that create theatre; historical topics include Shakespeare, American musicals, and world theatre. #introductiontotheatre, #theatricalproduction, #acting, #directing, #setdesign, #costumedesign, #lightingdesign, #shakespeare, #americanmusical, #worldtheatre |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Theatrical Scripts (2020, journal article) | analyzes the role of theatrical scripts and their relation to the literary work and the theatrical performance. Introduction; Contemporary debate on the relation of interpretation: An example; The role of the script in theories of theatre; Argument from modality; Possible challenges; Script Unreconstructibility; Literary work re-constructibility; Implementation of the script / literary work distinction |
| Reading and Responding to Drama (LibreText) | provides guidance on how to effectively read and understand drama or plays |
| How to Read a Play (chapter) | discusses how drama and theatrical performances create their own unique reality through the use of conventions and audience participation |
| Plays: HathiTrust (repository): | provides tips on how to read and understand drama or plays; click on "Full View" or "Multiple Views" to access plays in the public domain. |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| How to Review a Play (Google doc) | editable OER |
| Analyzing Dramatic Texts in Literary Genres (textbook): | focuses on analyzing dramatic texts by examining three key components: the spoken dialogue from the script, the physical staging and acting choices, and the underlying subtext conveyed through performance |
Smiley, Sam, and Norman A. Bert. Playwriting: The Structure of Action. Ebook, Yale University Press, 2005. : divided into two parts: "The Playwright’s Solitary Work," which guides writers through vision, idea development, drafting, and revision, and "Principles of Drama," which explores essential elements of drama including plot, story, character, thought, diction, melody, spectacle, and a way of life.
Murphy, Vincent. Page to Stage: The Craft of Adaptation. Ebook, University of Michigan Press, 2013. Provides steps for adapting literature into stageworthy plays and includes exercises, case studies, and information on collaboration, rights acquisition, and production.
Rush, David. A Student Guide to Play Analysis. E-book, Southern Illinois University Press, 2005.: an aid for analyzing and interpreting a diverse range of dramatic works
General/History
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Theatrical Worlds (Part Two, Section 2: Acting) | from LibreText, includes: Intro to Technical Theatre; Technical Theatre Practicum; Actors and the Art of Performance; Theatre Appreciation; Playwriting; Directing; Devising; Improv Recipe Book; Exploring Movie Construction and Production; Moving Pictures - An Introduction to Cinema; Video Production Handbook; Telling Stories to Save the World |
| Folger Shakespeare Library Collection (website) | a large Shakespeare collection resource for exploring Shakespeare and his world; and Folgerpedia, the Folger Shakespeare Library's encyclopedia of articles addressing each topic as it relates to the Folger and the Folger collection. |
| History of Theatre: Middle Ages in 7B | supplemental resource used in college-level Theatre Appreciation course |
| Digital Resources - Theater (website) | materials from the Library of Congress including digital collections, online exhibitions, recorded lectures and interviews with scholars and performers, filmed theatrical performances, and published articles and blog posts |
| Storytelling on Screen: An Online Playback Theatre Archive (textbook) | a guidebook explaining key concepts and adaptation to online performances; for various theatre courses. |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Actor Tools for Public Speakers (chapter) | includes topics on Banishing Negative Thoughts, Encouraging Positivity, Releasing Physical Tension, Freeing Voice and Speech, Finding Focus and Commitment, and Enhancing Confidence |
| Actorama (website) | search monologues from movies, plays, television and books according to gender, source material, type (dramatic, comic, serio-comic), main action/emotions explored, period, genre or specific keywords (e.g. title or author) |
| Public Speaking as Performance Subtitle: Practicing Public Speaking in the Theatre & Performance Classroom (textbook) | covers acting tools, audience analysis, and delivery methods as well as strategies for enhance presentations and making effective use of language |
| Free Monologues for Women, Men, and Non-Binary Performers (website) | “for use in the classroom, during rehearsals, as acting exercises, for auditions, and in directing and playwriting lessons” |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| ImprovWiki (website) | exercise ideas for theatre warm-ups |
| Improvisation Recipe Book (website) | improv "recipes" and games |
| Speech Accent Archive (website) | from George Mason University, a large set of speech accents from various language backgrounds |
Steffens, David. Theater and Performing Arts Industry. Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2024. Research Starter; provides an overview of the theater and performing arts industry, detailing its historical roots, contemporary landscape, economic challenges, and future outlook, emphasizing its diversity ranging from nonprofit symphonies and regional theaters to commercial Broadway productions, all reliant on philanthropic support, consumer spending, and evolving audience preferences; Research Starter.
Bordman, Gerald, and Thomas S. Hischak. The Oxford Companion to American Theatre. E-book, Oxford University Press, 2004. outlines the history and key aspects of American theater; covers playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, playhouses, and dramatic movements.
Fotis, M. (2021). Improvisational Theater. In S. P. Holland (Ed.), Encyclopedia of American Studies (1st ed.). Johns Hopkins University Press. provides an overview and analysis of improvisational theater as an American art form and cultural phenomenon.
General
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| An Introduction to Technical Theatre (LibreText) | provides a comprehensive overview of technical theatre, including terminology and general practices and draws on the author’s experience in both the theatre and the classroom; intended as a resource for both secondary and post-secondary theatre courses |
| Chapter 9: Technical Theater in Exploring the Arts | This chapter focuses on the essential tasks and skills required in technical theater, emphasizing the importance of script breakdowns, set design, lighting, properties, and costumes in creating a seamless production and highlights the collaborative nature of these roles and the critical thinking, problem-solving, and communication skills necessary for success. |
| Technical Theatre Practicum | covers jobs in technical theatre, performance etiquette, actor scene breakdown, scenery, stage properties, stage lighting, costume, sound, blocking notation, production reports, and cueing scripts |
| Theatrical Worlds (textbook) | gives insight into the people and processes that create theatre; historical topics include Shakespeare, American musicals, and world theatre. #introductiontotheatre, #theatricalproduction, #acting, #directing, #setdesign, #costumedesign, #lightingdesign, #shakespeare, #americanmusical, #worldtheatre |
Scene Design and Construction
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| The Set Team in #TheatreAppreciation | details the evolution of scene design from ancient Greek and Roman theatre to the modern era and explains the critical role scenery plays in storytelling and how contemporary scene designers use various technologies and collaborate with a team of specialists to bring theatrical worlds to life, from initial sketches to the final production. |
| MIT Open CourseWare: Theatrical Design | open resources from MIT courses to include readings, assignments, syllabi, videos, and more. Contact the RRCC OER Assistant if you have trouble locating the OER within the pages. |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Lighting Archive | a website dedicated to preserving and providing access to original lighting documents from historical theatrical productions and influential lighting designers |
| Theatre Lighting Before Electricity | covers the intricacies of dealing with stage lighting before the advent of electricity. Ranging from ancient Greek times to 1882. |
Rae, Paul. Real Theatre: Essays in Experience. Cambridge University Press, 2019. - explores the multifaceted nature of theatre as an experiential art form. Paul Rae, a theatre and performance scholar, delves into various aspects of what constitutes "real theatre" by examining how it engages audiences, conveys meaning, and exists within specific cultural and historical contexts.
Sound/Lighting Design & Implementation
General
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| So You Think You Know Dance?(textbook) | provides an introduction to dance (including musical theatre), covering its history, styles, elements, and role in various cultures and societies; designed for students taking dance appreciation courses or anyone interested in gaining a deeper understanding of dance. |
|
Meet the Dance Makers: Profiles of Creativity, Innovation, & Tradition (textbook) |
features interviews with global choreographers, producers, and performers. |
| International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) | a digital library of public domain musical scores and recordings. |
| Musical Theatre in #TheatreAppreciation | provides an overview of the history and evolution of musical theatre |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Audition Packet for Musicals (repository) | a pre-made template that the author has used and adapted for various musical theater productions from elementary through high school levels. It contains materials to help organize auditions for musicals, such as audition forms, character breakdowns, and other related documents. |
| Audition Insider: Advice from Casting Directors* (video playlist) | hosted by Backstage; videos with audition advice from theatre casting directors |
| The Psychology of Auditioning* | provides useful insights and strategies for actors to mentally prepare for auditions |
General
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| #TheatreAppreciation | provides an overview of various aspects of theatre, including theatrical spaces, theatre history, musical theatre, including the importance of set design. |
| Video Production Handbook (LibreText) | offers insights into the entire video production process including development, pre-production, production, and post-production, divided into 16 chapters. |
| Drama Arts Toolkit (videos) | a collection of educational resources focused on the study and appreciation of theater arts, hosted on the PBS LearningMedia platform; includes videos exploring the history and elements of theater, as well as behind-the-scenes looks at theater production. |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| MIT Stage Management Manual | a stage management manual for co-curricular theater productions at MIT, detailing the stage manager's role in coordinating all technical aspects from pre-production to performances and serving as the central communication hub. It emphasizes the importance of research, planning, organization, running rehearsals, and overseeing performances, and includes various organizational tools like forms, checklists, and sample reports. |
| Stage Manager (website)* | an AACT resource that describes the role of stage managers in theatre productions and outlines their responsibilities including scheduling and running rehearsals, coordinating with designers and crew, recording blocking and technical cues, and maintaining production integrity during performances. |
General
Hays, David. Setting the Stage: What We Do, How We Do It, and Why. Ebook, Wesleyan University Press, 2017 provides an inside look into the world of theater and stage design, revealing the collaborative process between designers, directors, and producers.
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| An Introduction to Technical Theatre with Practicum (textbooks) | provides a comprehensive overview of technical theatre, including terminology and general practices, and draws on the author’s experience in both the theatre and the classroom; practicum covers jobs in technical theatre, performance etiquette, actor scene breakdown, scenery, stage properties, stage lighting, costume, sound, blocking notation, production reports, and cueing scripts; includes Scene Painting and Color Theory |
| Theatre Lighting Before Electricity (textbook) | provides a comprehensive history of early-stage lighting techniques before the advent of electricity |
| Grand Illusion: The Art of Theatrical Design (website) | Library of Congress; historical showcases of theatrical design from Baroque to Broadway with collections documenting various theater genres, including ballet, modern dance, opera, musical theater, dramatic theater, and vaudeville. |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Gouache Painting* (videos) | video playlist covering Gouache painting techniques by Dinotopia creator, James Gurney |
| How To Use India Ink (video)* | instructor-led video demonstrates various techniques and tools for working with India ink |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Theatrical Design and Technical Theatre Portfolio* (video playlist) | for building a theatrical design and technical theatre portfolio; includes: Basics, Tips and Tricks, Presenting the Portfolio, Setting up the Portfolio Walkthru, The Resume, and Digital Portfolios |
| Technical Theatre Portfolio Preparation (presentation) | PowerPoint on preparation for a tech design portfolio. To make a copy, click "File>Make Copy" |
Brejzek, Thea, and Lawrence Wallen. The Model As Performance: Staging Space in Theatre and Architecture. Ebook, Bloomsbury Publishing, 2018. covers the history and development of the scale model from the Renaissance to the present, exploring its use in theatre and architecture from a scenographic and performative perspective.
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| La Couturière Parisienne (repository) | information, original pictures, patterns, and tutorials related to historical clothing and costumes. |
| Title | Description |
| #TheatreAppreciation (textbook) | for introductory level lecture classes such as Theatre Appreciation and Introduction to Theatre. It provides insight about the art and craft of theatre, a brief exploration of theatre history, and discussion about the styles and forms of theatre along with an overview of professions in the field. |
| OER Commons: Playwriting (repository) | an OER Commons resource containing a string of Playwiritng resources |
| Digital Resources - Theater (website) | materials from the Library of Congress including digital collections, online exhibitions, recorded lectures and interviews with scholars and performers, filmed theatrical performances, and published articles and blog posts |
| Introduction to Theatre (repository) | an OER Commons resource containing lecture notes, internet links and vocabulary lists for a core curriculum Introduction to Theatre college level course. |
| Title | Description |
| Key Components of a Dramatic Text – Surface and Subtext | explores key components of a dramatic text, including the dramatis personae which assists in identifying characters, the division of plays into acts and scenes, and the significance of stage directions and themes. |
| What Is Genre and How Is It Determined? – Exploring Movie Construction and Production | discusses different genres of movies/stories such as farce, satire, crime, spy, adventure, science fiction, horror, and drama. It provides examples and explanations for each genre. |
| Storytelling on Screen: An Online Playback Theatre Archive and Guidebook (textbook) | a collection of recordings of online Playback Theatre performances that provide insights into storytelling techniques and performance practices |
| Title | Description |
| Plays on Project Gutenberg (website) | includes Shakespeare, Alighieri, Shaw, Tolstoy, The Atlantic Book of Modern Plays by Gordon Bottomley, and more |
| The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (website) | created by MIT alumni and contains electronic copies of the works of William Shakespeare. |
General/Set Design
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| #TheatreAppreciation (textbook) | provides an overview of various aspects of theatre, including theatrical spaces, theatre history, musical theatre, and the importance of set design in bringing the world of a musical to life on stage |
| Drama Arts Toolkit (videos) | a collection of educational resources focused on the study and appreciation of theater arts, hosted on the PBS LearningMedia platform; includes videos exploring the history and elements of theater, as well as behind-the-scenes looks at theater production. |
| Exploring Movie Construction & Production (textbook) | covers key aspects of film construction and production, covering theme, genre, narrative structure, directing style, cinematography, and terminology. |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| The Use of Color in Theater and Film (journal article) | examines how colors are used in theater and film and how they are used differently on stage and in movies, including why they're chosen and what they mean; also explores how different people see colors and why directors make choices about colors. |
| Colour Theory: Understanding and Working with Colour (textbook) | covers various aspects of color theory, including its history, scientific principles, and practical applications in creative and scientific fields. |
| Mise en Scène Part 1: Setting, Design, Staging in Close-Ups: An Introduction to Film | covers the concept of mise-en-scène, the arrangement and design of everything that appears in the framed scene on a film or television set. |
| Scene Painting and Color Theory (LibreText) | explores essential techniques and concepts related to scene painting and the application of color theory in theatrical settings |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| All About Drafting (videos)* | includes: Drafting 101: What is Scale?; Drafting 101: Using a Scale Ruler; How to Set Up Drafting Plate (with Title Block); Units of Measure in Theatrical Building (in the US); Reading Build Plans and Making Cut Lists; Standard Drafting Symbols for Groundplans; Drafting a Set Groundplan |
General/Set Design
Sigler, Lora Ann. Medieval Art and the Look of Silent Film: The Influence on Costume and Set Design. Ebook, McFarland, 2019. examines how the Middle Ages influenced costume and set design in silent films
Scene Design and Stage Lighting. Columbia University Press, 2018. Credo Reference. the evolution of theater design, from ancient Greece and Rome's open-air stages to the Renaissance, Baroque, and 19th-century realism, up to 20th-century styles like expressionism and surrealism. Key developments include the proscenium arch, gaslight, electric lighting, cycloramas, and integrating elements under a director's vision.
General
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| An Introduction to Technical Theatre (LibreText) | provides a comprehensive overview of technical theatre, including terminology, general practices, sound design, and sound equipment guidance. |
| Sound in Technical Theatre Practicum (LibreText) | provides an overview of the role of sound in theatre productions including types of sound in theatre, creating sound effects, the sound design process, and basic sound equipment. |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| What I Do: Nick Hernandez, Sound Designer (video) | a sound designer describes his process for creating the sound design and composing original music for the Kennedy Center Theater for Young Audiences' production of "Long Way Down" based on the book by Jason Reynolds. |
| Sound Design In Contemporary Theatre: 6 Essential Steps For Successful Implementation* | outlines the six essential steps for implementing effective sound design in theatre: 1) Understanding the script and concept, 2) Research and collaboration, 3) Conceptualization and experimentation, 4) Technical implementation, 5) Rehearsals and refinement, and 6) Performance and maintenance. |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| offers guidance on properly using microphones and PA equipment to mix a live audio event, operate Pro Tools or other related recording software/hardware to produce a small audio project, and differentiate between audio formats. Also covers acoustic room treatments and recording budgets. | |
| What is a DAW? Your Guide to Digital Audio Workstations* | provides an overview of Digital Audio Workstations (DAWs) and their applications in sound/music production |
General
Kendrick, Lynne, and Roesner, David, editors. Theatre Noise: The Sound of Performance. Ebook, Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2011. Chapters include Sound Reproduction Techniques in Theatre; Performing Sound/Sounding Spaces; Vocal Landscaping: The Theatre of Sound in Audio Walks; Hear and Now: How Technologies Have Changed Sound Practices; The Mechanics of Noise; Conceptual Noise and the Potential of Audience Participation; Sound Immersion and the Theatre, and more.
General/Misc.
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Exploring the Arts: A Brief Introduction to Art, Theatre, Music, and Dance (textbook) | includes Intro to Dance, Elements of Dance, and Dance History and Styles |
| Dancers and Choreographers (website) | from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) website about the occupations of dancers and choreographers. |
| Dance Appreciation | videos from PBS Media |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| So You Think You Know Dance?(textbook) | provides an introduction to dance, covering its history, styles, elements, and role in various cultures and societies; designed for students taking dance appreciation courses or anyone interested in gaining a deeper understanding of dance. |
| provides an overview of the key elements of dance - body, energy, space, and time (B.E.S.T) and explains how these elements are building blocks that help identify, describe, analyze, and discuss dance as an artistic practice. | |
| Soft Skills in Dance (guidebook) | a digital guidebook created by the Empowering Dance 2 project aimed to help dance artists, choreographers, and teachers recognize and communicate the soft skills inherently developed through participatory dance practices. |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| a resource in Canvas Commons that provides an overview of Hip Hop Dancing's evolution, both in freestyle (a.k.a. improvised) solo expressions, and as choreographed, group works. Elements of African Traditional Dances, street dancing in America; Breakdancing, Locking, Popping, Femme Style, Whacking, Heels, K-pop, etc. contribute to competitive and performance forms. | |
| Playford’s Dancing Master | a comprehensive online resource dedicated to John Playford's "The Dancing Master", a seminal collection of English country dances published between 1651 and 1728. |
| TedTalk Videos: Dance | a collection of TED Talks on the topic of dance including those from various cultures and genres |
| Title | Description |
|---|---|
| Responding to Dance* (website) | provides guidance on how to critically respond to and critique a dance performance. |
|
Glossary Dance Terms in So You Think You Know Dance? |
various dance glossary terms |
General/Misc.
Wilson, David. Dance. E-book, National Highlights Inc, 2020. explores how dance reflects emotions and cultural stories in both ancient and modern dances, highlighting their historical significance.
Lerman, Liz. Hiking the Horizontal: Field Notes From a Choreographer. Ebook, Wesleyan, 2014. a collection of essays and articles reflecting on Lerman's lifelong exploration of using dance as a means for human insight and understanding the world.
Language and Critique of Dance