LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Geosciences

Geosciences

Book Collections & Textbooks

Analytical Methods in Geosciences (missing first chapter) [CC BY-SA]
Essentials of Geographic Information Systems “integrates key concepts behind the technology with practical concerns and real-world applications. Recognizing that many potential GIS users are nonspecialists or may only need a few maps, this book is designed to be accessible, pragmatic, and concise; illustrates how GIS is used to ask questions, inform choices, and guide policy; provides introduction to the use and application of digital maps, mapping, and GIS.”
LibreTexts Geosciences Bookshelves a collection of GeoScience titles from the LibreTexts project
Spatial Thinking in Planning Practice: An Introduction to GIS covers technical skills of using software and managing a database, and how to develop research skills for collecting data, analyzing information and presenting results; provides the background for understanding the concepts in GIS as applicable to urban and regional planning; authored by Assistant Professors of Urban Studies and Planning at Portland State University.

Repositories & Research

National Science Foundation: Geosciences - This is a list of all the programs within the Directorate for Geosciences (GEO) which funds the development of knowledge and technological innovations to (1) understand and adapt to the changes in our earth, ocean, and atmosphere, (2) accelerate the societal benefits of our investments, and (3) train a diverse and inclusive geosciences workforce.
Library of Congress: #GIS: LOC search filtered by #GIS
Education and Public Outreach | IRIS
Geosystems and Geoenvironment Journal: publishes data and findings, as well as concepts and models, related to the emergence and all related aspects of surface or deep Earth Systems and their planetary equivalents.
GIS in Digital Commons: open access articles via Digital Commons Network
USGS Explore Search: geoscience: The U.S. Geological Survey library; users can sort by multimedia, documents, news, and more. What is a geographic information system (GIS)?
USGS Explore Search: geoscience: The U.S. Geological Survey library; users can sort by multimedia, documents, news, and more.
Geosciences | An Open Access Journal from MDPI
Nature Geoscience: Open access articles in Nature Portfolio Journals are published under a CC BY license
Geoscience Data Journal: open journal articles
American Geosciences Institute: Geoscience Currents; Open Geoscience Information Collections; GeoRef Previews; Online Bibliographic Databases; GeoWord of the Day; Geoscience Online Learning Initiative (GOLI); Career Compass; Education GeoSource and K-5 Geosource – links to geoscience activities, media, and other resources; Earth Science Week – learning activities, information, videos, and more; Critical Needs in Geoscience; Mini-Poster – printable/downloadable files - Public Policy: Critical Issues; Critical Needs Document 2020 - geoscience issues and recommendations for decision- makers
GIS at CDC: how the Center for Disease Control uses GIS.

Videos

IRIS Earthquake Science - YouTube: Animations & videos that clarify Earth-science processes for non-scientists and scientists; awareness and understanding of seismology & Earth science while inspiring careers in geophysics. By Education and Public Outreach | IRIS funded by National Science Foundation; [governmental agency]
GeoScience Videos - YouTube: “These videos describe content featured in college-level introductory geoscience courses but may also be applicable to other disciplines and to high school curricula. Most videos are approximately 6 minutes long but we have recently started posting shorter, mini-videos that deal with a single concept. We use the longer videos as part of our flipped-class teaching model and the shorter videos as learning supplements.”

Images

GeoDIL Images Collection: The Geoscience Digital Image Library (GeoDIL): A collection of Earth science images through a project initiated at the University of North Dakota (UND) in fall 2000.

Interactive

Geosciences LibreStudio: H5P embeddable interactive content; openly-licensed; learning activities include:: image sequencing, multiple choice, drag & drop, fill in the blanks, interactive book, true/false, question sets, interactive video, sort the paragraphs, collage, and more.