Open Educational Resources (OER)

• Pressbooks Directory: This directory provides an index of 2,964 books published across 109 Pressbooks networks. 

• Higher Education Open Textbooks: ISKME's digital librarian-curated collections of Open Textbooks organized by discipline.

• OpenStax: A nonprofit educational technology initiative based at Rice University. "Since 2012, OpenStax has created peer-reviewed, openly-licensed textbooks, which are available in free digital formats and for a low cost in print."

• Open Textbook Library: "Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution." OTL textbooks must be a complete textbook available as a complete portable file (e.g. PDF, EPUB) and be in use at multiple higher education institutions, or affiliated with a higher education institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

• BC Campus Open Ed: Peer-reviewed accessible textbooks and ancillary materials in all subjects.

• Milne Open Textbooks by SUNY: Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff. The work highlighted in this series have a variety of publishers, but are all: authored by a SUNY faculty member, full courses or texts to be used in a college-level course, original work, or a significant remix or adaptation of another open work, and licensed with a Creative Commons license, with no ND designation.

• MIT Online Textbooks: An index to the online textbooks in MIT OpenCourseWare. Each link below goes to a course or resource page that contains the textbook files. Some of these online textbooks are open-licensed electronic versions of print books. Others are self-published online books, or course notes to serve as an alternative to a conventional textbook.

Open Courseware

• Open Course Library:  A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments. Designed by college faculty, instructional designers, and librarians.

• LibreCommons:  Curated Open Educational Resources from all 14 LibreTexts libraries. 

• Khan Academy: Full courses on variety of subjects; includes short videos and supplemental practice activities.

• MIT OpenCourseWare:  MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. 

• Saylor Academy:  College level and professional OER courses. 

• Yale Open Courses:  Each course includes a full set of class video lectures accompanied by syllabi, suggested readings, exams, and problem sets. The lectures are available as downloadable videos, and an audio-only version is also offered. Searchable transcripts of each lecture are provided. Most of the lectures and course material within Open Yale Courses are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/us). 

• Open Case Studies at UBC:  Open case studies with focus on sustainability and other topics that benefit from an interdisciplinary approach. The cases on this site are OER: they have an open license to allow for revision and reuse of the cases in other courses and contexts.

Research

• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) :  Articles on technology, science, art, business, history, law, psychology & more filtered by CC licenses.

• Open Humanities Press:  Peer-reviewed monographs and journals.

• PLOS Science & Medicine Journals:  OA journals and articles, everything on the PLOS website is also licensed under CC BY.

When it comes to accessing OER images, there may be times where you will be asked to register with an email only in order to download the object. This tends to be more common of image sites, and will often give important image information and metadata for creating accurate attributions. 

• Wikimedia Commons: Images: Public domain and freely licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips). 

• Library of Congress Free to Use and Reuse Sets:  This page features items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use. Each set of content is based on a theme and is first featured on the Library's home page.

• WOCinTech (Women of Color in Tech) : #WOCinTech started in 2015 to provide women of color and non-binary people of color a safe space to connect and discuss issues in the tech industry that are important to them. "Since then, we have expanded into a grassroots initiative that aims to connect women of color and non-binary people of color to career and skills-building opportunities in tech." 

• Flickr: The Commons: The Commons was launched on January 16 2008 in partnership with the Library of Congress with two main objectives: "increase access to publicly-held photography collections", and "provide a way for the general public to contribute information and knowledge."

• Public Domain Images: "Discover original artworks from our own library of public domain books and chromolithographs. We have scanned and digitally enhanced these art prints into high resolution, and they are available to download under the CC0 license"

• The New York Public Library Digital Photography Collections: From The New York Public Library's collections, digital photograph collections containing more than 800,000 digitized items. Textual descriptions provide context for the materials "to inspire people to use and reuse the media and data on offer there to advance knowledge and create new works."

• Images of Empowerment: Created by the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation and Getty Images; "Too often, images from low- and middle-income countries focus on poverty and tremendous need rather than what we see everywhere we go: women in decision-making roles, working to earn income, and accessing and providing reproductive health information and services to care for themselves and their families." CC-BY-NC.

• Nappy: "High-resolution freely-licensed photos of black and brown people for use by startups, brands, agencies, and the public. Created to bring diversity and cultural representation into the photography community." CC0

• HEIR (Historic Environment Image Resource): At the University of Oxford "contains digitised historic photographic images from all over the world dating from the late nineteenth century onwards. HEIR’s core images come from lantern slide and glass plate negatives held in college, library, museum and departmental collections within the University of Oxford. New resources are being added all the time, including collections from outside the University." HEIR’s mission is to keyword the images and rephotograph them in their modern settings so they can be used by researchers from a wide variety of disciplines to track changes to sites, monuments, landscapes and societies over time. CC BY-SA

• Noun Project: Icon curated collection by designers from over one-hundred countries that "celebrate diversity and represent a more inclusive world."

• Icons8: "Download design elements for free: icons, photos, vector illustrations, and music for your videos. All the assets made by designers"

• Unsplash: Grants irrevocable, nonexclusive, worldwide copyright license to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, and use their photos freely, including for commercial purposes  license

• Smithsonian Open Access Images: Includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

• Disabled And Here: Stock images of disabled Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC); created by a disability justice advocate and Affect, a disability initiative in Portland, Oregon.

• The Big Cartoon Wiki: The Big Cartoon Wiki is an encyclopedia dedicated to collecting expansion scenes throughout media; currently houses over 60k images across 609 articles; includes scenes from cartoons, comics and games. Content is available under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike unless otherwise noted.

• The Gender Spectrum Collection: "The Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. This collection aims to help media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives." CC-BY-NC-ND

UNDER CONSTRUCTION

• 3D models - National Gallery of Denmark (CC0): SMK – National Gallery of Denmark was founded in 1849 when the Danish royal collections became property of the people. Today we at SMK want to contribute to building a more creative and reflective society that values its history and cherishes difference.

• Sketchfab: The British Museum 3D Models:  All free downloadable 3D models available on Sketchfab are offered under a Creative Commons license; "The British Museum was founded in 1753, the first national public museum in the world."

• Scottish Maritime Museum 3D Model Collection: maritime heritage of Scotland models 

• Malopolska`s Virtual Museums: a variety of heritage objects in Małopolska, Poland (CC0)

• Scholarpedia: a peer-reviewed open-access encyclopedia written and maintained by award-winning inventors and discoverers; aimed to complement it by providing in-depth scholarly treatment of topics within the fields of mathematics and sciences including physical, biological, behavioral, and social sciences. [CC BY-NC-SA]
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) combines an online encyclopedia of philosophy with peer-reviewed publication of original papers in philosophy, freely accessible to Internet users and maintained by Stanford University, each entry is written and maintained by an expert in the field, including professors from many academic institutions worldwide. Authors contributing to the encyclopedia give Stanford University the permission to publish the articles, but retain the copyright to those articles.
• The Walt Whitman Encyclopedia: The Walt Whitman Encyclopedia on the Whitman Archive provides a detailed resource on the life, work, and legacy of Walt Whitman.
• World History Encyclopedia: founded in 2009; every submission to the encyclopedia is reviewed by an editorial team. [CC BY-NC]