LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Communication Studies

Communication Studies

Book Collections & Textbooks

Arguing Using Critical Thinking "Critical thinking is a series learned skills. In each chapter of this book you will find a variety of skills that will help you improve your thinking and argumentative ability. As you improve, you will grow into a more confident person being more in charge of your world and the decisions you make." Authored by Jim Marteney, Professor Emeritus (Communication Studies) at Los Angeles Valley College. [CC BY-NC]
Communication: Fundamentals for the Workplace designed to guide college students in developing the vital communication skills that are necessary to succeed in the modern workplace. [CC BY]
Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies chapters include real-life examples of communication concepts; covers communication theory and skill-building and integration of content regarding diversity and organizational communication in each chapter through examples and/or discrete sub-sections; comprehensive about introductory communication with five primary types: intrapersonal, interpersonal, group, public, and mass communication. [CC BY-NC-SA]
Exploring Public Speaking - 4th Edition for basic public speaking courses or courses that include basic public speaking skills as one of their primary learning outcomes; covers learning theory, plagiarism, speaking online, speaking to diverse audiences, and humor in public speaking. [CC BY-NC-SA]
Intercultural Communication examines culture as a variable in interpersonal and collective communication and explores the opportunities and problems arising from similarities and differences in communication patterns, processes, and codes among various cultural groups; explores cultural universals, social categorization, stereotyping and discrimination, with a focus on topics including race, ethnicity, social class, religion, gender and sexuality as they relate to communication [CC BY-NC-SA]
Logical Reasoning Chapters include: How to Reason Logically; Writing to Convince Others; Detecting Fallacies; Aristotelian Logic and Venn-Euler Diagrams; Reasoning about Causes and Their Effects; Scientific Reasoning [CC BY-NC-SA]
Primer on Communication Studies heavily adapted title made accessible in 2012. The author of A Primer on Communication Studies is unknown; editor: Victoria Leonard; published by Creative Commons. [CC BY-NC-SA]
Writing for Strategic Communication Industries emphasizes practical applications of academic inquiry to help readers improve their writing skills. Includes: Discussion of different writing styles and techniques; examples of communication materials such as press releases, creative briefs, feature articles, and more; embedded videos of insights from communication professionals; tips on pitching to the media. [CC BY-NC]

Repositories & Research

Frontiers in Communication: peer-reviewed open journal with “research in a range of key areas, including Political, Health, Culture, and Science and Environmental Communication.” Includes Journals, Research Topics, and Articles sections. [CC BY]
Social Media Fact Sheet (Pew Resaerch Center): a data and visual analytic fact sheet showing how “Americans use social media to connect with one another, engage with news content, share information and entertain themselves; shows “patterns and trends shaping the social media landscape over the past decade.”

Videos

Organizational Communication Channel: Videos on popular research and theory topics for Communication students everywhere. Topics range from early organizational studies on Classical Management by theorists like Frederick Taylor and Max Weber to more recent issues such as Leadership, Workplace Bullying, Crisis Communication, Emotional Labor, and many others. [CC BY]
Saylor Academy Communications Videos: from the Saylor Academy. [CC BY]
Journal of American Sign Languages and Literatures – (JASLL): “The Journal of American Sign Languages and Literatures (JASLL) offers a permanent home for ASL publications in its most natural and accessible medium – video. A video-based medium provides a space for leading educators, researchers, and storytellers to share their work with the public in signed language. Most importantly, JASLL urges a paradigm shift in how peer-reviewed publications need not be limited to text, but can encompass video publications and articles. JASLL also provides an opportunity for Deaf communities to access scholarly information through their primary and natural language, signed language.” [CC BY-NC]
ASLized! ASL Videos: “ASLized fosters the integration of American Sign Language (ASL) educational research into visual media and literacy. The main objective is to produce teaching and learning materials in ASL with two focuses: 1.) ASL literature, preserving culture and history and 2.) ASL Linguistics, promoting a better understanding of the complex structure and use of sign languages.”
A collection of TED Talks on the topic of Public Speaking: TED's secret to great public speaking; How I Overcame My Fear of Public Speaking; We can help you master public speaking; Public Speaking: How to make your message matter
Lessons in Communication: videos from the Stanford Graduate School of Business