Skip to Main Content 
Business & Management
Books/Textbooks
Business and Management Pressbooks Collection
Developing Organizational and Managerial Wisdom; Digital Accessibility as a Business Practice; Operations Management; Professional Business Practice; Cultivating Your Leadership Capabilities; Global Business; Small Business Management
Business Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Financial Management for Small Businesses: Financial Statements & Present Value Models; Business Computers 365; Problem Solving in Teams and Groups; Management Communication; eMarketing - The Essential Guide to Online Marketing; Principles of Financial Accounting; Entrepreneurship and Innovation Toolkit; Business Plan Development Guide; Project Management; Introducing Marketing; Business Law and the Legal Environment; Developing New Products and Services
Financial Management for Small Businesses, 2nd OER Edition
This book is for those whose financial management focus is on small businesses. The text adapts the traditional financial management themes emphasized in corporate financial management courses to meet the needs of small businesses. [CC BY]
LibreText Business Bookshelves
Accounting; Business; Finance; Management; Marketing; Law [CC BY-NC-SA]
Management Communication
Covers a broad spectrum of communication types; textbook is divided into small reading sections color-coded with headings; contains videos and articles; peer-reviewed; topics on short emails, complex reports, private chats, impassioned pitches, formal presentations, and team meetings. [CC BY-SA]
OpenStax Business Textbooks
Business Ethics; Business Law; Entrepreneurship; Intro to Business; Intro to Intellectual Property; Introductory Business Statistics; Organizational Behavior; Principles of Accounting (Financial); Principles of Accounting (Managerial); Principles of Management [CC BY}
Strategic Project Management for Human Resources
designed to learn about project management from a human resources perspective; describes processes and applications, and roles of the team in implementing these processes; designed to help students understand and apply the knowledge and skills learned about projects and people. [CC BY-NC-SA]
Repositories & Research
- 10 steps to start your business: from the Small Business Administration (SBA); teaches how to start and fund a small business, from researching the market to launching.
- Budgeting for Fun in a City: from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, and activity involves creating a budget for a fictional city by making choices about housing, transportation, entertainment, and other expenses. It aims to teach young individuals the importance of budgeting and making informed financial decisions in a fun and interactive way.
- Financial Terms Glossary: contains terms for financial literacy to” help students better understand financial literacy concepts.
- SWOT Analysis: provides introduction, definitions, issues of concerns, and clinical significance, and guiding questions. [CC BY-NC-ND]
- SWOT Analysis: lesson aimed to “identify the components of a SWOT analysis. Students will be able to define each of the terms for SWOT with business setting in mind. Once finished, students should be able to analyze a company and identify its SWOT components.”
Case Studies
- Critical Employment, Ethical, and Legal Scenarios in Human Resource Development: mini-cases that explore ways to solve problems and make decisions about situations that occur at work. [CC BY-NC-SA]
- Lumen Learning: Managerial Accounting Case Studies: Harley Davidson; Burton Snowboards; Janus Motorcycles; MOD Pizza; Auto Manufacturing; Zero-Based Budgeting; Ski Santa Fe; Highland Park; Wells Fargo [CC BY]
- Yale School of Management free cases: free case studies and pedagogical materials from the Yale School of Management
- Journal of Business Case Studies (JBCS): publishes papers for business courses using case studies; articles examine research questions from a broad range of perspectives; topics may include but are not limited to accounting, business law, economics, ethics, finance, management, marketing, and related fields; Archives and Current Issues
- Acadia Institute of Case Studies (AICS) [archived]: archived case studies to assist educators and which reflect "real-world" situations
- The Sustainable Business Case Book: combines the theory of sustainability with key concepts, analytical information and contextual information with a collection of cases which provide insights, perspective and practical guidance on how sustainable businesses operate from different business functional area perspectives; can be used as a stand-alone text or as a supplemental textbook for undergraduate courses that have an interest in sustainable business. [CC BY-NC-SA]
- MIT OpenCourseWare Video: Uber Case Study: Overview of Uber and its business model.
- Stanford Graduate School of Business Case Studies: Click on "Narrow Results" followed by "Available to download at no charge"
Courseware & Open Learning
- Achieve the Dream (ATD) Open Courses: Achieving the Dream’s OER Degree Initiative open courses; links to landing page where you can filter by subject. Business courses can be filtered via "Applied Sciences"
- Saylor Academy Business Courses: Introduction to Business; Introduction to Financial Accounting; Managerial Accounting; Principles of Finance; Principles of Marketing; Business Statistics; Business Law; Management Information Systems; Principles of Management; Organizational Behavior; Corporate Communication; Operations Management; Human Resource Management; Strategic Information Technology; Small Business Management; Management Leadership; Project Management; Negotiations and Conflict Management; Strategic Management [CC BY]
- globalEDGE Online Modules: Online Course Modules: Doing Business In: Africa, Brazil, China, India, Japan, Latin America, Russia, South Korea, European Union, and Middle East; globalEDGE™ was created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University (IBC) and partially funded by a U.S. Department of Education [CC BY-NC-ND]
- Lumen Business Courses: Click on “View Course Content and Outcomes” for immediate access to resources [CC BY]
Videos
- International Trade Commission Exporting Basics Video Playlist: The U.S. Commercial Service developed a comprehensive video collection to assist small businesses with entering the exporting business; The International Trade Commission is an agency in the United States Department of Commerce.
- Khan Academy: Interviews with Entrepreneurs: “Personal lessons and insights from accomplished entrepreneurs are the basis of this interview series produced by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation and Khan Academy” including: Philip Rosedale; Richard Branson; Elon Musk; & more.
- Khan Academy Career Videos: Khan Academy: Career Video series. Interviews Army officer, Office Manager, Population Health Director, and many more.
- OpenStax Business Video Series: part of the OpenStax Business series; showcases entrepreneurs and businesses with a focus on purpose, principles, and best business practices. Each can be used with any OpenStax business textbook. [CC BY]
- Saylor Academy Business Videos
- TED Talks: Consumerism: A collection of TED Talks on the topic of Consumerism. [CC BY-NC-ND, unless otherwise noted]
- TED Talks: Business: A collection of TED Talks on the topic of Business. [CC BY-NC-ND, unless otherwise noted]
Interactive
- Business & Management H5P Content: The eCampusOntario H5P Studio site uses H5P, an open source plugin, to allow content authors to easily create interactive content for their courses or other instructional projects. eCampusOntario H5P Studio is provided as part of our set of Open Publishing tools and developed by the Wilfrid Laurier University Library.
- Business & Management LibreStudio: H5P embeddable interactive content; openly-licensed; learning activities include:: image sequencing, multiple choice, drag & drop, fill in the blanks, interactive book, true/false, question sets, interactive video, sort the paragraphs, collage, and more.
