LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Art & Architecture

Art & Architecture

Book Collections & Textbooks

A Quick and Dirty Guide to Art, Music, and Culture Written by Clayton Funk at Ohio State University; chapters include: Abstract Painting in the 1950s; Rock and Roll and Youth Culture; Pop Art and New Kinds of Rock; New Art and Music for New Consciousness; Television and Utopia and the 1970s; MTV and Music in the 1980s; At the Millennium: Art and Music in the 1990s; Neo-Expressionism, Punk, and Hip Hop Emerge
Books in Architecture (Project Gutenberg) Project Gutenberg eBooks may be freely used in the United States. Most are not protected by U.S. copyright law; some titles may copyrighted titles, and in many those cases, the copyright holder has given permission for unlimited non-commercial worldwide use.
Introduction to Architecture [CC BY-NC] Written as a complement to Paul Goldberger’s text, Why Architecture Matters; text assumes no prior knowledge of architectural history and focuses on the vocabulary of architectural analysis, as well as case studies on individual architects and structures.

Repositories & Research

Open Access at The Met: Materials filtered by "Open Access" are either those that the Museum believes to be in the public domain, or those to which the Museum waives any copyright it might have. In 2017, The Met made all images of public-domain works in its collection available under Creative Commons Zero (CC0), to use, share, and remix.
Collections — Google Arts & Culture Google Arts & Culture is a non-profit initiative that works with cultural institutions and artists globally. The Cultural Institute platform only accepts only copyright free or copyright cleared content.
American Art and Architecture Commons: "The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work."
Smithsonian Institute Gallery of Artists: Digitized collection of artists held at the Smithsonian. Includes: Artists in Studios; Artist's Self Portraits; Artist's Letters; Actors and Actresses; Art Instructors; Designers, and more.
The Los Angeles County Museum of Art Collections: "LACMA is the largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection of more than 147,000 objects that illuminate 6,000 years of artistic expression across the globe."
Getty Search Gateway: A search tool designed to help researchers, scholars, and educators discover resources across the Getty collections, including collections in each the four programs: J. Paul Getty Museum; Getty Conservation Institute; Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. Users can use the tool to browse collections broadly, by type of resource (i.e., paintings, books, archives), or to search directly for assets related to very specific subjects—historical periods, artists, object types, etc.

Images

Flickr Commons Collections : Most photos tagged as "no known copyright restrictions." Under "The Commons," cultural institutions that have reasonably concluded that a photograph is free of copyright restrictions are invited to share such photograph under their new usage guideline called "no known copyright restrictions." Included in Collection: Gottlieb Jazz Photos, San Diego Air and Space Museum's Library and Album Archives, American Memory: Color photographs from the Great Depression, The George Grantham Bain Collection, plus more.
WorldImages Collections: The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. The images can be located using many search techniques on the top menu, from Search the Collection or the field-specific Search.
Architecture Images: Unsplash grants irrevocable, nonexclusive, worldwide copyright license to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, and use photos for free.
Archives of American Gardens: The Smithsonian’s collection of resources that document the history of gardens in America. "The Archives inspires new ways of interpreting garden history and design so that America’s rich garden heritage can be better understood, appreciated, and enjoyed today and in the future."
Arts & Culture Images: Unsplash grants irrevocable, nonexclusive, worldwide copyright license to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, and use photos for free. [Unsplash license, copy, modify, distribute, commercial & non-commercial use]
Flickr: Library of Congress Image Albums: "Looking at pictures opens new windows to understanding both the past and the present. Favorite photos are often incorporated in books, TV shows, homework assignments, scholarly articles, family histories, and much more. The Prints & Photographs Division takes care of 14 million of the Library's pictures and features more than 1 million through online catalogs. Offering historical photo collections through Flickr is a welcome opportunity to share some of our most popular images more widely." [ No known copyright]
Art Images for College Teaching: "Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) began as a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community." [CC0]

Videos

TED Talks: Photography: A collection of TED Talks on the topic of Photography. [CC BY-NC-ND, unless otherwise noted]
TED Talks: Art: A collection of TED Talks on the topic of Art. [CC BY-NC-ND, unless otherwise noted]
Film History CrashCourse Playlist: Includes 16 episodes about film history. Based on an introductory college level curriculum, covers how our brains make meaning out of still images placed side-by-side in rapid succession; discusses the birth of the moving picture and the innovations that made sound and color possible; explains how the studio system rose to power and then collapsed; contextualizes the uses of film around the globe, including as propaganda.

Interactive

H5P Content: The Arts: The eCampusOntario H5P Studio site uses H5P, an open source plugin, to allow content authors to easily create interactive content for their courses or other instructional projects. eCampusOntario H5P Studio is provided as part of our set of Open Publishing tools and developed by the Wilfrid Laurier University Library. [CC BY-NC-SA, unless otherwise noted]