Chemistry
Book Collections & Textbooks
Biochemistry: Free For All
Text is aimed at helping students at all levels of biochemistry. The iBooks version can run on an iPad or a Mac running iBooks. The PDF version can be used on any computer. [CC BY-NC]
Pressbooks: Chemistry: Curated Chemistry titles
LibreTexts: Chemistry Bookshelf
This central Bookshelves area in this LibreTexts Library holds texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team and can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes [CC BY-NC-SA]
OpenStax Chemistry 2e
Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course by teaching the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes interactive exercises and real-world applications. [CC BY]
Pressbooks: Chemistry
Curated Chemistry titles
Virtual Lab and Science resource Directory: Chemistry
This directory was created in response to the post-secondary science community’s requests for help with the hands-on portions of their courses in light of the COVID-19 pandemic. Virtual labs and science resources were identified by BCcampus, then vetted by subject matter experts. The resources in this directory are intended to support remote science education, either by supplementing concepts or replacing physical labs. [CC BY]
WOU Online Chemistry Textbooks
Western Oregon University open online Chemistry resources by the WOU Department of Chemistry
Repositories & Research
- MERLOT Chemistry Portal: A community portal for educators providing links to new OER Chemistry materials and journals.
- Open Chemistry: Open Chemistry is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishing research, reviews, and communications in the fields of chemistry. De Gruyter Publishing. [CC BY]
- The ChemCollective: A collection of resources teachers can utilize for pre-labs, alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities (individuals or teams). Organized by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon who are interested in using, assessing, and creating engaging online activities for chemistry education. Includes: virtual labs, tutorials, concept tests. and scenario-based learning activities.
Courseware & Open Learning
- General Chemistry 1: Click on "Enter Without an Account" to access free resources; General Chemistry 1 is an interactive course that covers topics typical of first semester General Chemistry. The course includes formative practice problems that are scaffolded and include detailed feedback, By Carnegie Mellon University.
Videos
- Khan Videos: Chemistry Library: Atoms, compounds, and ions; Mass spectrometry; Chemical reactions and stoichiometry; Electronic structure of atoms; Periodic table; Chemical bonds; Gases and kinetic molecular theory; States of matter and intermolecular forces; Chemical equilibrium; Acids and bases; Buffers, titrations, and solubility equilibria; Thermodynamics; Redox reactions and electrochemistry; Kinetics; Nuclear chemistry; Alkanes, cycloalkanes, and functional groups [CC BY-NC-SA]
- Khan Videos: Organic Chemistry Library: Structure and bonding; Resonance and acid-base chemistry; Alkanes, cycloalkanes, and functional groups; Stereochemistry; Substitution and elimination reactions; Alkenes and alkynes; Alcohols, ethers, epoxides, sulfides; Conjugated systems and pericyclic reactions; Aromatic compounds; Aldehydes and ketones; Carboxylic acids and derivatives; Alpha carbon chemistry; Amines; Spectroscopy. [CC BY-NC-SA]
- Bozeman Science Chemistry Videos: Matter; Properties of Matter: History of the Atom; Atoms and the Periodic Table; A Tour of the Periodic Table; Naming Compounds, and more. [CC BY]
- Trent University: Chemistry Videos: For first-year students. [YouTube Creative Commons CC BY]
- TED Talks: Chemistry: A collection of TED Talks on the topic of Chemistry. [CC BY-NC-ND, unless otherwise noted]
Interactive
- PhET Simulations: Chemistry: All simulations available at https://phet.colorado.edu are open educational resources available under the Creative Commons Attribution license. [CC BY]
- Interactive STEM activities: Chemistry: Interactive models and activities developed by the Concord Consortium and curriculum experts; funded by the National Science Foundation.
- Physlet Physics: Interactive Illustrations, Explorations, and Problems for Introductory Physics
- Physics HTML5 Simulations: These HTML5 simulations should work on all modern browsers and mobile devices. This collection (mainly aimed at introductory physics) currently has over 200 simulations; choose "HTLM5" from the left menu.
- Index of Physics simulations: Free sim resources compiled by Helen Reynolds
- Interactive Periodic Table: The Royal Society of Chemistry's interactive periodic table features history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table. Click the tabs at the top to explore each section. Click each element to read detailed information.