LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Computer & Information Sciences

Computer & Information Sciences

Book Collections & Textbooks

Advanced R 1st Edition a companion website for “Advanced R”, a book in Chapman & Hall’s R Series; designed primarily for R users who want to improve their programming skills and understanding of the language; Advanced R 2nd Edition and R Packages [CC BY-NC-SA]
Computer Science Textbooks - Open Textbook Library Building Information - Representation and Management: Principles and Foundations for the Digital Era; Evidence-based Software Engineering; Deleting Dystopia: Re-Asserting Human Priorities in the Age of Surveillance Capitalism; Introduction to Statistical Thinking; Inventory Analytics; Computer Science I - Version 1.3.7; Defend Dissent; Tutorials of Visual Graphic Communication Programs for Interior Design; A Person-Centered Guide to Demystifying Technology: Working together to observe, question, design, prototype, and implement/reject technology in support of people's valued beings and doings; First Semester in Numerical Analysis with Python; The Crystal Ball Instruction Manual - version 1.1 Volume One: Introduction to Data Science; The Discipline of Organizing: 4th Professional Edition; Think Raku: How to Think Like a Computer Scientist - 2nd edition; The Joy of Cryptography and more
R for Data Science teaches how to do data science with R; covers grammar of graphics, literate programming, and reproducible research and teaches how to get your data into R, get it into the most useful structure, transform it, visualize it and model it. CC BY-NC-ND
Web Accessibility Textbooks Professional Web Accessibility Auditing Made Easy; Web Accessibility for Developers; Introduction to Web Accessibility
Wikibooks: Computers for Beginners/The Basics a book for people with little or no prior computer knowledge; teaches basics moving slowly toward more advanced topics. [CC BY-SA]

Research & Repositories

Digital Commons Network: Computer Sciences: "The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work."
Journal of Cloud Computing: "publishes research articles on all aspects of Cloud Computing. Principally, articles will address topics that are core to Cloud Computing, focusing on the Cloud applications, the Cloud systems, and the advances that will lead to the Clouds of the future. Comprehensive review and survey articles that offer up new insights, and lay the foundations for further exploratory and experimental work, are also relevant." [CC BY]
Jerry Hargrove - Cloud Diagrams & Notes: diagram images; CC BY-SA

Videos

ITLearnz: Videos on IT & Software, IT Certifications, Network & Security, Operating Systems, Network Security, Computer Network, Operating Servers, AWS Certification, Microsoft Certification, Ethical Hacking, AWS Certified, CompTIA, Cyber Security, Cisco CCNA, Microsoft Azure, IT Certifications, Google Cloud Certification, Kali Linux, Linux Administration, Windows Server, Shell Scripting, Active Directory, PowerShell, Linux Command Line, Linux, Windows 10, Server Administration, Ubuntu, Arduino, Microcontroller, Raspberry Pi, Cloud Computing [CC BY]
IBM Research: Videos by IBM researchers who “work on a range of applied and exploratory projects to help clients, governments and universities apply scientific breakthroughs to solve real-world business and societal challenges.” [CC BY]
W3Schools: CSS Tutorial: Video tutorials from the CSS section on w3schools.com
freeCodeCamp.org: coding videos freely available to the public.
Ted Talks: Computers: A collection of TED Talks on the topic of Computers. [CC BY-NC-ND, unless otherwise noted]
Computer Science: Crash Course videos based on introductory college-level material as well as the AP Computer Science Principles guidelines.

Courseware

Introduction to Computer Science and Programming: MIT courseware "aimed at students with little or no programming experience. It aims to provide students with an understanding of the role computation can play in solving problems. It also aims to help students, regardless of their major, to feel justifiably confident of their ability to write small programs that allow them to accomplish useful goals. The class will use the Python programming language." [CC BY-NC-SA]

Interactive

H5P Content: Computing & IT: The eCampusOntario H5P Studio site uses H5P, an open source plugin, to allow content authors to easily create interactive content for their courses or other instructional projects. eCampusOntario H5P Studio is provided as part of our set of Open Publishing tools and developed by the Wilfrid Laurier University Library. [CC BY-NC-SA, unless otherwise noted]
H5pCatalogue: Computer Science: Entity relationship; Extensible Markup Language; XML - Basic Intrduction; Entity relationship; Database basic level Questions; C Language - Introduction; Exception Handling in Java; Exception Handling in Java; Basics of Java Script; Tally Prime; Data Types in Java Script; [various Creative Commons licenses]