Language & Linguistics
Book Collections & Textbooks
I'm All Ears
"Pronunciation that is acceptable and appropriate to native speakers of a language, is a key element in attaining full fluency in a foreign language. However, the systematic teaching of correct pronunciation is not usually part of the Spanish curriculum. Additionally, sections on pronunciation are often absent from textbooks. I’M ALL EARS is a Spanish pronunciation course for teachers and students of Spanish created to facilitate the important task of teaching and learning correct pronunciation from day one." By Jorge González Casanova, an Associate Teaching Professor at the University of Washington, in the department of Spanish and Portuguese.
French 101 Student Workbook
a remixed version of Français Interactif exercises; includes interactive exercises and a vocabulary and grammar action for each module; modules also contain an introduction page with learning objectives, a cultural reflection assignment, a presentational speaking and/or writing assessment, and Allez plus loin (Go further) page which contains additional content. [CC BY-NC-SA]
Let's Chat! Spanish
a collection of over 100 interpersonal speaking activities for novice and intermediate learners. Touching on a range of thematic topics such as free time activities, travel, daily routines, health, the environment, art and so much more, Spanish teachers are sure to find an activity to use in their courses. These activities may be used as is or can easily be revised and remixed to fit the unique needs of individual classrooms. [CC BY-NC-SA]
Linguistics Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Linguistics for Teachers of English; Reading With My Eyes Open: Embracing the critical and the personal in language pedagogy; WAC and Second-Language Writers: Research Towards Linguistically and Culturally Inclusive Programs and Practices
Modern Languages: Spanish OER Textbooks
An Open/Alternative Textbook Program from the Borough of Manhattan Community College
Pressbooks Language Learning Collection
A Digital Workbook for Beginning ESOL; Basic Hindi I; Beginning Japanese for Professionals: Book 1; Beginning Japanese for Professionals: Book 2; Elementary Arabic; Green Tea Intermediate English Communication OER; Oral Communication for Non-Native Speakers of English; + JUNTXS; Introduction to French; JUNTXS; Let's Read French Books; Multilingual Tutor Training; Introducción al Español; Redes 2. Curso de español intermedio.; Spunti: Italiano elementare 1; Study Materials for Arabic Students by an Arabic Student
Repositories & Research
- MERLOT World Languages Community Portal: "MERLOT welcomes all language educators and students of World Languages to access the many OER available in the ever-expanding World Languages Collection. This pioneer community contains thousands of OER, many of them peer-reviewed by distinguished scholars in the field."
- OER Commons: Language Education (ESL): Filtered search: #Language Education (ESL); #CC BY, Public Domain
- Kanienkeha.net: An open source endangered language initiative. "Mohawk (Kanien’keha) is an Iroquoian language with about 3,350 speakers, most of whom are elderly, though there are younger speakers in some areas. There are six Mohawk-speaking communities: Tyendinaga, Wáhta, and Ohswé:ken in Ontario; Kahnawà:ke and Kanehsatà:ke in Quebec, and Ahkwesáhsne in Quebec, Ontario and New York State."
- Francais interactif: Developed at the University of Texas at Austin in the Department of French and Italian; ten-year collaboration between academic and technical professionals, it was funded and created by the UT Liberal Arts Instruction Technology Services and is currently supported by the Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning (a National Foreign Language Resource Center), and the U.S. Department of Education. The goal is to improve both the textbook and online materials and share pedagogical best practices.A cast of thousands has contributed to Français interactif: students on the UT study abroad program in Lyon and in our classrooms in Austin, graduate students and faculty, programmers, artists, technicians, native French speakers in France and Austin, and teachers and learners all over the world.
Open Courseware & Learning
- Achieve the Dream (ATD) Open Courses: Achieving the Dream’s OER Degree Initiative open courses; links to landing page where you can filter by subject (Foreign Languages).
- Heritage Spanish Professional Development Modules: The “Heritage Spanish Professional Development Modules” is an ongoing TeCHS project aiming to provide relevant information and resources to promote, expand and celebrate heritage Spanish teaching and learning. These professional development modules are based on the Heritage Spanish Summer Workshop series (2018, 2019, 2020), hosted by TeCHS and COERLL, and will continue to expand as other workshops and presentations are integrated. Although originally designed as professional development for language instructors who work with Spanish heritage learners at all levels of education, these modules can also be of interest to course designers, curriculum developers, administrators, and researchers.
- Spanish Grammar in Context: Spanish Grammar in Context provides detailed grammar explanations and examples of the Spanish language. The website is designed for educators and students of Spanish as well as for native speakers who wish to better understand Spanish grammar and terminology; includes practice questions.
Videos
- Wikitongues: "Wikitongues is a global network of grassroots linguists. We're building a seed bank of cultures: videos and dictionaries for every language in the world; and we maintain free resources for people to keep their languages alive. On this channel, you'll find videos of hundreds of languages, including sign languages, spoken by native speakers, heritage speakers, and polyglots who love language learning." ; filtered for Creative Commons
- Englishing: ESL Learning English Videos by a History and an ESL, EFL, TESOL certified teacher, specialized in teaching English in schools both in Italy and in Canada.
- Figurative Language Playlist: From YouTube Teachers. Playlist includes: Similes & Metaphors; What is a Hyperbole?; Figures of Speech song; English Shorts Examples: Simile, Metaphor, Personification; Personification in Music; Tigger Onomatopoeia; Onomatopoeia; Extreme Alliteration; An Introduction to Figurative Language in Poetry; Sally Sells Sea Shells: A tongue twister song; Figurative Language;
- TED Talks: Language: A collection of TED Talks on the topic of Language.
Interactive
- Language H5P Content: The eCampusOntario H5P Studio site uses H5P, an open source plugin, to allow content authors to easily create interactive content for their courses or other instructional projects. eCampusOntario H5P Studio is provided as part of our set of Open Publishing tools and developed by the Wilfrid Laurier University Library.
-
Language LibreStudio: H5P embeddable interactive content; openly-licensed; learning activities include:: image sequencing, multiple choice, drag & drop, fill in the blanks, interactive book, true/false, question sets, interactive video, sort the paragraphs, collage, and more.